Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I think that we should start a Celtic Woman project on Wikipeida...  (Read 8488 times)
Lugiahua

"Goodnight and joy be to you all" - Parting Glass

« on: May 03, 2011, 12:08AM »

In the past five years, Wikipedia became an important tool for many. Some people would search on Wikipedia whenever encountered an unfamiliar term.
As many of us probably already noticed, the database related to Celtic Woman, both current and past member on Wikipedia is quite limited.

For example, when I was search My Land album by Orla, I couldn't find any information at all! same to many other albums or tours related to our beloved ladies  Angry

So I suggest here that we should help on increasing database on the Wikipedia, for those who has time and resources to do so.
I have no experience on editing Wikipedia  Tongue, but think it's a good idea to suggest such project...
hesprit
Total Fanatic

« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2011, 02:00PM »

Wikipedia is NOT a reliable source of information.  There is no requirement to provide confirmation of the infomation that is posted and, using the members of Celtic Woman as an example, there have been large amounts of incorrect information, as well as information that is not publicly available, posted to the site. 

Personally, I would not rely on any information found on Wikipedia unless I can find it confirmed on an official site ... and if I'm going to the official site anyway, why bother with Wikipedia?  Bottom line is that I would not bother with creating a project which anyone could come along and change the information or even add in false or incorrect information at any time without a need for confirmation.
Lugiahua

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2011, 02:57PM »

yes, but common people use Wikipedia extensively.
and I am sure updating information like list of songs from My Land or the name of composers of My Land will not cause security breach.