Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: O, Tannenbaum on German TV (with MaiC & Éabha!)  (Read 9205 times)
Danny

Boys will be boys.

« on: December 25, 2015, 07:00PM »

On Christmas Eve German TV station ZDF broadcasted a Christmas Show in which our lovely ladies made an appearance. They sang O Tannenbaum with MaiC on Méav's high notes and Éabha doing Lisa L's part.
http://www.zdf.de/ZDFmediathek/hauptnavigation/sendung-verpasst#/beitrag/video/2599250/%22Heiligabend-mit-Carmen-Nebel%22 (Skip to min 57:50)
« Last Edit: December 26, 2015, 04:22AM by Danny » Logged

Danny

Boys will be boys.

« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2015, 04:22AM »

updated the link

mattycakes
Honorary Roadie

Oh you have made me very angry, very angry indeed!

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2015, 07:17PM »

Here's a YouTube link to the girls' part!
https://youtu.be/vZDGsmeRwgM

Is it just me or are Mairead C's verse's lyrics slightly different from Meav's original lyrics? I'm not an expert in that language by any means, but it sounded very different.
Excalibur

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2016, 11:31AM »

Here's a YouTube link to the girls' part!
https://youtu.be/vZDGsmeRwgM

Is it just me or are Mairead C's verse's lyrics slightly different from Meav's original lyrics? I'm not an expert in that language by any means, but it sounded very different.

Yes, the lyrics are different indeed Smiley

Méav's version says:
O Tannenbaum, rimani sempre verde
In freddo ed in tempesta, la luce tua sempre sta

which means:
O Tannenbaum, you always remain green
Through cold and storm, your light is always there

MaiC's version says:
O Tannenbaum, risplendi nella notte
Le luci tue scintillano, come le stelle brillano

which means:
O Tannenbaum, you shine in the night
Your lights shine, like stars they shine

(yep, we have three different words - actually even more -  to say"shine" in Italian Smiley )